Frying doughnuts

Home Forums Baking — Breads and Rolls Frying doughnuts

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    aaronatthedoublef
    Participant

Hi,

A friend asked me about frying doughnuts. I've only baked them.

Any advice and sources of good information would be appreciated.

Spread the word
      Mike Nolan
      Keymaster

I can't remember the last time I fried anything, we don't even have a fryer, so I'm going to be of no help here. I've done some shallow fat frying in a cast iron pan, but not recently.

BakerAunt
        Participant

I have no experience with frying, so I'm also unable to offer help.

I think that KAF has fried doughnut recipes, so perhaps check there?

cwcdesign
          Participant

I haven’t fried donuts since we used tho get the Pillsbury pop open cans when we were kids - I should say my Mom fried them and we watched

chocomouse
            Participant

I've never fried anything. Not even tempted to try!

BakerAunt
              Participant

Clearly, we are a "No-Fry" zone.

CWCdesign--The Pillsbury biscuit "doughnuts" brought back memories, as I recall my Mom making those too, by cutting each biscuit into quarters. After frying, they were coated in cinnamon sugar.

cwcdesign
                Participant

We liked the “holes”

Mike Nolan
                  Keymaster

KAF has a good recipe for baked donut holes.

cwcdesign
                    Participant

I’ve made the doughnut muffin recipe that is the basis for the baked doughnut holes. We really like it.

chocomouse
                      Participant

I agree that the KAF recipe for doughnut muffins is good. I used to make it quite often, but not for several years now. They are like the old-fashioned cake donuts. I don't eat doughnuts, don't like them, and they settle in the pit of my stomach. Except for Krispy Kreme donuts! Raspberry filled! But it's a three hour drive to the nearest one, which is probably a good thing.

Mike Nolan