No Boil Lasagna Sheets

Home Forums Cooking — (other than baking) No Boil Lasagna Sheets

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Italiancook
    Participant

I want to make 2 - 9-inch square pans of lasagna. One to serve; one to freeze. I've seen Barefoot Contessa use the No Boil Lasagna. She soaks it in warm water for, as I recall, 20 minutes before using. I've never used these sheets.

If I try them, do you think I'll run into problems with the frozen lasagna, either in the freezing process or when I bake it?

I can see this both ways and have no idea which is best, since I've never used No Boil Lasagna before.

I have a new Kitchenaid mixer pasta-making set sitting in the box in my kitchen. After I learn to use it, I'll probably make my own lasagna sheets. But for now, I'm debating whether it's best to freeze regular lasagna noodles or the no boil kind.

Spread the word
      Mike Nolan
      Keymaster

I haven't used no-boil lasagna sheets in over 10 years. As I recall, they needed to soak for a few minutes to soften.

These days I make most of my own pasta.

When I make lasagna, I freeze it after baking.

If you've got the KitchenAid pasta set, the recipe for semolina egg pasta in it makes an excellent lasagna. It won't have the crinkles in it, of course. I do boil them for 30 seconds or so, to 'set' the pasta and make it easier to handle when assembling the lasagna. I let them dry a bit on cloth towels, that keeps the pasta from getting too watery.

I usually wind up adding more water than the recipe calls for. If you get it too wet, it doesn't roll out well, but if it is too dry all it does is crumble.

• This reply was modified 7 years, 11 months ago by Mike Nolan.
        cwcdesign
        Participant