Bischofsbrot [Bishop’s Bread]

Home Forums Recipes Bischofsbrot [Bishop’s Bread]

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    BakerAunt
    Participant

Bischofsbrot

This recipe comes from a pamphlet distributed by the California Raisin Board at the Los Angeles County Fair, around forty years ago, so it should be safe to post here. The original recipe used a 9x5 inch loaf pan, but I discovered that the center did not thoroughly bake in that pan, so I now use a 12 x 4 inch loaf pan from Kaiser Backform. I have even made it in small mini-loaf pans (but be careful to get the cherries evenly distributed in the smaller loaves). It will not dome and has a flat top. It is a dense cake and can be sliced thinly. Bischofsbrot {Bishop's Bread) is meant to invoke the idea of a stained glass window.

As a graduate student, I once baked this recipe for a seminar in which participants took turns bringing the food. The British-born professor exclaimed: "Christmas Cake! My mother used to make that!"

Ingredients (in order combined):

6 Tbs. unsalted butter [low-fat alternative1/4 cup avocado oil mixed with 2 Tbs. buttermilk]
      1/4 tsp. vanilla

2 1/2 Cups flour
      3 tsp. baking powder
      1/2 tsp. sea salt
      2 Tbs. Bob's Red Mill milk powder (optional)

2 Cups chopped walnuts
      3/4 Cups currants [or use regular raisins]
      3/4 Cups golden raisins
      1 Cup chopped semi-sweet chocolate (or 1 Cup chocolate chips--dark chocolate would also be good--I'm partial to Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips )
      about 15 whole red maraschino cherries, well-drained

4 eggs, at room temperature
      1 1/4 Cups sugar

Grease and flour a 12x4 inch loaf pan. [Note: The Grease does not work well with this recipe.] Preheat oven to 300F.

Melt butter, stir in vanilla, and set aside to cool. If using the oil option, whisk together avocado oil and buttermilk for a minute, until it has a milky consistency, then mix in vanilla.